Parish Clergy 1852 – Present

St Edward the Confessor Parish is part of the Deanery of Havering, one of several deaneries in the Diocese. Priests have served Romford since 1850, following the Catholic Relief Act of 1829. The roll call of presiding priests is as follows:

Archdiocese of Westminster
1852-1854 Fr Alfred White (Resident at Moorfields 1852-1853)
1854-1855 Fr John Connolly
1855-1870 Fr Jean-Baptiste Colomb S.M.
1870-1884 Fr Joseph Drew
1884-1885 Fr Thomas Carey
1885-1917 Fr Henry Tilley
Diocese of Brentwood
1917 Fr Henry Tilley
1917-1923 Fr Jules van Meenen (1st Parish Priest 1918)
1923-1949 Fr Thomas Bishop
1949-1955 Fr Richard Gay
1954 Fr Feargus Saurin (Administrator pro tem)
1954-1979 Mgr Matthias Kearney (Administrator 1954, Parish Priest 1955)
1979-1990 Fr John Taylor
1990-1994 Fr John Lane
1994-2003 Fr Kevin Hale
2003-2020 Fr Thomas Jordan
The Assistant priests who served the Church of Romford were as follows:
1922-1923 Fr Michael Healy C.R.L. (incardinated 1923)
1931-1933 Fr Patrick Donohoe
1933-1938 Fr Bernard Hatley
1938-1949 Fr Martin Horkan
1949-1952 Fr Brian Foley *
1950-1952 Fr Patrick Anthony Murphy (Killaloe)
1951-1952 Fr Michael Hopkins
1952-1954 Fr Alfred Graham Langford (Calcutta)
1953-1954 Fr René Margry (Amiens)
1954 Fr Jean Mercier S.A.M.
1954-1955 Fr James Crowley (Armagh
1955-1957 Fr James Donnelly (Armagh)
1957-1961 Fr Francis Hastings
1960-1962 Fr Sean Sheils
1962-1967 Fr John Gordon
1964-1972 Fr Anthony Mulvihill
1967-1970 Fr Michael Stokes
1970-1971 Fr Eamonn Madden C.S.Sp.
1971-1982 Fr John Bergin
1972-1973 Fr Thomas Tuohy S.M.
1982-1983 Fr Bartholomew Lynch
1984-1987 Fr Maurice Gordon
1987-1990 Fr John Harrington (Liverpool: incardinated 1988)
1990-1993 Fr Niall Harrington
1993 Fr Thomas Jordan
1993-1994 Fr Basil Pearson (Pro Tem)
The following Permanent Deacon served the Church :
1990-2002 Rev Geoffrey Piper

Fr. Brian Foley became the Bishop of Lancaster in 1961 and remained in that office till 1985 when he retired. He died on 23rd December 1999.